rebuff


East Garden
Cair Paravel
Eastern Narnia


Haft says, “Ah. Yes, I suppose they are.”

Megren says, “For me, anyway.”

Haft says, “Deonyc sparred against one of the Duke’s party earlier today. He was good…the other man, I mean.”

Megren asks, “Representative of the party in general, you think?”

Haft says, “Not necessarily. The man said he was the Duke’s companion-at-arms. I’d expect him to be better trained that some others.”

Lanisen wanders along the path in the early evening, watching the Swifts and Nighthawks diving overhead.

Megren muses, “Hmm. Maybe you or Deonyc can manage a spar against one of the others without it seeming like the sort of challenge it might from Sir Darrin or I.” Her eyes shift to the figure walking toward them.

Haft says, “I think I can manage that.”

Lanisen slows and hesitates as he nears them, then continues his approach.

Megren also hesitates before saying, “Hey Lanisen. Catch the sunset?”

Lanisen says, “Yeah, um– a bit, I did. Did you?”

Megren shakes her head. “Only from inside the castle walls.”

Haft says, “Same.”

Lanisen nods. He hesitates again, then says, “You should– the top of the tower, where we’re stayin’, it’s– it’s good.”

Megren says, “Oh, I guess that makes sense.”

Haft glances between the two of them, as if picking up a stiltedness to their conversation.

Lanisen nods. His eyes dart between them and he takes a step back. “Well.”

Megren says, “I promised — um, I promised Sir Darrin we’d debrief this evening. We had a couple, a couple things we meant to discuss.”

Lanisen nods again, quickly, and ducks his head. “Yeah, of course. I’ll, I’ll get out of your hair.”

Haft glances between the two again. “I’d best see about relieving Deonyc. Good evening.”

Megren looks vaguely embarrassed, but says steadily enough for the expression to be unclear, “Sure. See you in the morning, Haft.”

Lanisen says quietly to both, “‘Night,” and continues down the path. His shoulders are a little slumped.

Megren looks more uncomfortable with that.

Haft looks a little concerned, but heads off as well, giving her space.

Megren takes a third path, so that they each quickly disappear from each other.

Leave a Reply

