history & potential futures


The Athenaeum of Aslan
Eastern Narnia


You stand the a large, brightly-lit chamber that comprises the Athenaeum of Aslan. Its reputation as a learning center is well-earned, but it looks unlike any typical classroom of any other culture. The chamber is triangular in shape, tapering in from the corners of the south wall to a fine point to the north. There is a low wooden table situated near the northern point, and facing this are concentric rows of circular benches in various sizes, presumably to give attendant pupils a place to sit, listen and learn. The ceiling above is domed, but there is a great open space in the center that is unhindered even by trees. Thus, sunlight and fresh air pour in, illuminating the whole chamber and filling it with the rich, fragrant scents of outdoors.

There are doorways leading into side chambers to the east and west. The east door is marked ‘Charity’, the west is marked ‘Knowledge’. The door to the south leads back out to the Antechamber.


Mateo takes the offered seat next to her, “Mateo, I’m Mateo, it’s nice to meet you”

A daughter of eve with brilliant white-blonde hair (Astrid) smiles. “How have you found your time here? ‘Interesting’?”

Mateo nods, returning her smile, “Yes, very much so!”

Lanisen steps into the antechamber, carefully wiping his feet on the mat provided. He glances up at the sound of voices and smiles a quick greeting to the two.

Mateo looks over at the sound of footsteps, “Hey Lanisen!” he turns to Astrid, “That’s the one who told me about this place”

Astrid gives the newcomer a slow wave. “Hellooo,” she says. “Lanisen is a very nice name too. Trisyllabic names can have a good sound to them…”

Lanisen blinks, and then smiles again in mild confusion. “Thanks?”

Mateo grins a little, “Take the compliment Lanisen”

Astrid smiles. “Compliments are good,” she says before gesturing towards Mateo. “I was talking to Mateo here, he hasn’t been here long… Do you two know each other well?”

Lanisen says, his eyes shifting to Mateo, “Ahh, mmm, I wouldn’t say /well/? But we’ve talked a bit, yeah.”

Mateo says, “Yeah, we’ve spoken a few times, friendly acquaintances I’d say”

Astrid hmmms. “If you’re acquaintances and you’re already friendly, at what point do you become friends?”

Lanisen says, “Never really gave that much thought.”

Mateo asks, “Huh, you know, I’m not sure…I guess you just sort of know? You know?”

Astrid nods. “It’s a funny little phrase, is all.”

Mateo exclaims, “I guess so!”

Lanisen glances at the door to the knowledge chamber and offers another small quick smile. “I didn’t mean to interrupt,” he says, gesturing toward the books. “I’ll just–”

Mateo exclaims, “Hey it’s alright, you can join us!”

Astrid says, “Oh, you’re not interrupting anything. Mateo was saying how he’d wanted to come and see the athenaeum for himself.”

Lanisen asks interestedly, “Oh, is this your first time, then?”

Mateo nods, “Not had the chance to until now”

Astrid says, “He told me hadn’t been here for very long, so I don’t blame him, but it’s a delight to finally see you here.”

Lanisen says, “It’s one of my favorite places.”

Mateo says, “Astrid was just telling me how they have all manner of sagas recorded here”

Astrid says, “Mhmm. There’s so many tales that have been passed down. A few hours in here, and you’ll… only have scratched the surface of Narnia’s history. But that’s what makes it so fun.”

Mateo says thoughtfully, “I wonder if you got the one of how the Lone Islands became a Narnian dependency… Literally noone seems to be able to tell me that story”

Lanisen’s face sort of lights up when Astrid puts the thing into words. He nods silently, agreeing.

Astrid cants her head. “No? But it must be such a fascinating story. If I ever find such a book for you, I’ll tell you.”

Mateo says, “Odd that it’s been lost, oh well.”

Lanisen asks, “It’s been since before the Winter, right?”

Mateo nods, “Yep, that’s right”

Lanisen looks at Astrid and says, “I heard a lot of records and stories were lost during the Winter, is that…?”

Astrid nods along, a little sadly. “Unfortunately… A lot has been lost. But I remain hopeful that the memories of these tales stay alive, and can one day be put down on paper again.”

Lanisen asks, “Some of the centaurs, maybe?”

Mateo perks up, “Oh, yeah! I spoke to one who remembers the time before…And, and maybe the trees too? Trees are old”

Astrid nods along. “The centaurs, certainly. And… do you mean the dryads?” she asks Mateo.

Mateo snaps his fingers, “That’s the one, the word was on the tip of my tounge”

Lanisen grins. He pushes his mouth to the side and says, “I wonder when it was the islands became part of Narnia, then.”

Mateo says, “So long no one even remembers.”

Astrid wonders. “They can live very old. That is for certain… Does no-one back in the islands really have any idea when that might be? I’ve never been”, she confesses.

Mateo shrugs, “Truth be told, I haven’t asked anyone official about it”

Lanisen asks, glancing at Mateo, “What happened to the islands under the Witch, do you know?”

Mateo says, “Far as I can tell, they carried on as normal, but were completely and utterly cut off… Essentially running themselves like an independent state. I think i heard stories of folks trying to get to Narnia but those that did never came back so eventually they just, you know. Stopped.”

Lanisen says, “I just wondered. If she made a point of destroying, you know, records and history here, would she have sent somebody to do the same there.”

Astrid scratches her chin. “I wonder what happened to those that arrived… I don’t suppose they could’ve found refuge or made it safely elsewhere…”

Mateo shrugs, “Maybe, I just know they weren’t covered in winter as well, perhaps it was just easier to just… I don’t know, make sure none of them ever arrived as opposed to trying anything there and having to deal with all the places in the middle”

Lanisen says, “I suppose so. I suppose if she wanted to extend herself that far she might as well have taken over Archenland into the bargain.”

Mateo says, “Exactly, easier to just off anyone who comes near Narnia”

Astrid nods in agreement. “Still, it’s an excellent story in itself. How the isles coped during her reign… There must be so many tales of how life were back then, at least.”

Lanisen tilts his head at Astrid. “Where are you from, if I can ask?”

Mateo looks to her as well, curious.

Astrid waves a hand around. “Here. Well… I was born in Archenland, really, but I’ve lived here for much longer. What about you?”

Mateo says, “Terebinthia, well, Galma originally but I live in Terebinthia now.”

Lanisen asks, interested, “Where in Archenland?”

Astrid says, “My family came all the way from Chesterton.”

Lanisen says, “Oh, I’ve been there.”

Mateo says to them both, “What’s it like”

Astrid hums to herself as she thinks back. “It was a very lovely place, from all I can remember. There were plenty of friends to find.”

Lanisen asks, “When was it you came back?”

Mateo asks, “Came back?”

Lanisen says, “Or– came here, I suppose.”

Astrid says, “To Narnia? Oh… Almost as soon as the White Witch fell, really. When word reached Archenland, a lot of us felt compelled to help and so my family came along. ”

Lanisen says, “I remember a few families leavin’.”

Astrid nods along. “And you? Where are you from?”

Lanisen says, “Carmichael, up by the west saddle.”

Mateo asks, “What’s that like?”

Lanisen says, “Ahh, mountains, lots of hills, little streams. Pine trees, mostly.”

Mateo says, “That sounds very picturesque”

Lanisen is sitting on a bench near the doorway, talking with Astrid and Mateo who are sitting a little distance away. “It’s nice, yeah,” he agrees.

Astrid is sat next to Mateo, and has a closed book resting upon her lap. “What about the isles, Mateo? What was it like growing up there?”

Mateo considers this, “Well I’m originally from a small fishing village, it was a quiet childhood for the most part”

Darrin steps through the doorway from the antechamber.

Lanisen turns to look over his shoulder toward the doorway. He grins and gets to his feet to bow.

Mateo looks over as Lanisen bows, stands and does the same.

Astrid looks after the other two and, after a moment of setting her book on the bench, likewise stands and offers a bow.

Darrin looks a little suprised to be met with all the bowing, but he smiles and nods back. “Hello, everyone.”

Lanisen says, “Mornin’, sir.”

Darrin says, “Good morning, Lanisen.” He glances at the two strangers. “I’m sorry, I don’t mean to interrupt your conversation.”

Mateo says, “It’s alright sir, we were just talking about our various homes”

Lanisen assures him, “You haven’t.”

Astrid nods in agreement with the other two. “You’ve not interrupted anything.”

Darrin says, “Well then. I don’t believe we’ve been introduced – I am Sir Darrin.”

Mateo says, “Pleasure to meet you, I’m Mateo”

Astrid says, “And people call me Astrid. It’s lovely to meet you.”

Lanisen folds his hands behind his back.

Darrin gives a brief bow. “The pleasure is mine.”

Mateo asks, “You were here to do some reading, sir?”

Darrin says, “More just out for a stroll, and the Athenaeum is always beautiful.”

Lanisen shifts, and frowns, and says, “Sir– we were just talkin’, do you know when it was that the Lone Islands became part of Narnia?”

Mateo looks up at the ceiling and, noting the position of the sun he says to the others, “Hey, it was nice talking to you all but I should get back now”

Lanisen says, his attention shifting, “Oh– of course, yeah.”

Mateo gives them a wave and heads off.

Astrid picks up her book and looks to the remaining two with a soft smile. “It’s been delightful seeing you two, but I should probably be heading off now. I hope to see you both soon.”

Lanisen ducks his head toward her. “See you around, I’m sure,” he answers.

Astrid bows her head and makes to leave.

Darrin clears his throat, bidding the other two goodbye before he addresses the question. “Oh, King Gale of Narnia, he fought off a dragon for the Islands and in return they gave him the title of ‘Emperor.’ That was, oh, 200, 250 years after King Frank and Queen Helen? A long time ago in Narnian history.”

Lanisen says, “/Huh/. All right.”

Darrin says, “So, it’s been a part of Narnia for long enough that it’s, just generally accepted as part of Narnia now.”

Lanisen muses, “I wonder what it was like for them when the Witch took over.” He pauses, then adds, “I wonder what it was like for them when the Witch was deposed.”

Darrin asks, “Did they experience the Winter too, do you know?”

Lanisen glances toward the door. “Mateo says no.”

Darrin says, “Interesting. They must have felt terribly cut off, knowing the rest of the country was under snow.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah. I wonder what it was– I wonder how, um, how active the Narnian king or queen was in… you know, governing. I wonder if it was a big adjustment, or not very much one at all.”

Darrin hums. “Right. And how much the Duke and other nobles in the Islands are like the Kings and Queens were. Do you think his experience is enough to qualify him to govern a whole nation?”

Lanisen shifts. “I don’t know anything about his experience,” he says. “At least– at least he /has/ some.”

Darrin says, “True.”

Lanisen hesitates, glancing around the empty atrium, then sits. “Has anybody else come forward?”

Darrin says, “I don’t think officially? I’m not sure how many Narnians would actively put themselves forward in such an obvious way, though. It’s…it could be fine, but I could see it being taken as a kind of arrogance.”

Lanisen considers this. “We were talkin’ last night, with a couple of the Wolves,” he says. “They said they wouldn’t want somebody to have the crown who didn’t want it.”

Darrin thinks about that, sinking down besides Lanisen. “That’s…a good point, actually.”

Lanisen says, “So it’s liable to be the Duke, then.”

Darrin says, “Unless someone else steps forward, or the Council finds him unsuitable.”

Lanisen says, “That Dwarf, Niffum, she wants Lord Peridan.”

Darrin rubs his mouth. “He’s very devoted to Narnia. Has a cool head in a conflict, and the Narnians know him already. He wouldn’t be a bad choice. But he isn’t actually Narnian.”

Lanisen pauses. “The people who are sayin’ it’s gotta be human seem… mostly they seem to be the same people who are sayin’ it’s gotta be Narnian. Lord Peridan’s been here…”

Darrin agrees, “He’s more a Narnian than an Archenlander these days.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah.”

Darrin says, “I’m not forming an extremely favorable impression of the Duke, I confess.” He sighs. “Though I should give him more time, speak to him more.””

Lanisen asks, “Why’s that?”

Darrin says, “Something about the way he talks about Narnia, about being back here, it seems…possessive in a way that makes me uncomfortable. A King shouldn’t feel like a country belongs to him – he should feel like he belongs to his country. And, aside from that…” he turns to Lanisen, giving a sheepish smile. “Avery will be embarrassed that I’m spreading this, but she was speaking to him recently and there was a misunderstanding, where she was talking in vague terms about how she’d really come with us mostly to see Lord Peridan, and Duke Oren assumed she was talking about how she’d really come to see him, and perhaps suggest a political union between herself and the Duke.” He waves a hand. “It’s a simple misunderstanding, but one that doesn’t speak well of the Duke’s ego, that he would think my /much younger cousin/ randomly decided to seek him out, without knowing him or whether his aims on the Narnian throne would be accepted, to propose marriage.” Darrin frowns.

Lanisen blinks a couple times, and then makes a distasteful expression. “He disappointed Wethil, I think,” he says after a moment. “She didn’t, she didn’t say as much, but.” He shrugs.

Darrin asks, “Wethil?”

Lanisen says, “Oh, you haven’t–? She’s, mm, have you seen the Bat that runs messages at night? Sort of orange fur around her face?”

Darrin says, “Don’t think so.”

Lanisen says, “Oh, well… that’s her, she’s, um, she has trouble sleepin’ sometimes in the day and I have trouble at night, so we talk. It didn’t go well when, when she met him, I guess.”

Darrin asks, “What happened?”

Lanisen says, “Um…” and scratches his head. “She– ahh, the Duke and Lady Avery were havin’ breakfast in the garden off the kitchen and she went in to pick fruit, not knowin’ they were there, and…” He squints and shakes his head. “I’m, I’m not clear on what happened but she came out upset, thinkin’ she’d given a bad impression, thinkin’ the Duke thought she was bad at her job.”

Darrin frowns faintly.

Lanisen says, “I– um, I talked a little with Lady Avery about it, she says they weren’t… um, offended or anything? There wasn’t anything… I don’t know. I just know Wethil was upset.”

Darrin says, “Poor thing.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah.” He makes a face. “He should’ve–” He rubs the side of his face and glances around the room again, then drops his hand and sighs. “It ain’t my place to…”

Darrin offers, “It sounds like she’s a friend of yours.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah. Yeah, she is, I like her a lot.”

Darrin says, “I think that means you’re allowed to have an opinion on the matter, Lanisen.”
Darrin grins at him.

Lanisen says, “Oh.” He pulls his lips between his teeth and ducks his head, offering a sheepish sidelong smile back. “Sorry, I’m– I been tryin’ to figure out what’s protocol, when I’m here, I don’t even know what– I had to go /look up/ in a /book/ how to address the Duke.”

Darrin claps a hand over his mouth, but a giggle slips out. “That’s fantastic,” he says, giving Lanisen an approving look. After a moment, he offers, “You could’ve just asked me.”

Lanisen rubs the back of his neck and doesn’t answer right away. “I was hidin’ from you at the time, sir, I’m– I’m sorry.”

Darrin says, “Ah. Well, that makes sense, then.” He doesn’t seem to be too bothered.

Lanisen says, “Anyway, it– I didn’t like that he let her leave upset, I guess.”

Darrin says, “Yeah. Well, if she works in the castle…it’s going to be important, how he treats the staff, if he’s King.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah.”

Darrin stretches out his legs in front of him, falling silent.

Lanisen glances at him after a moment. “What’re you thinkin’?”

Darrin says, “It’s hard striking a balance when we’re just here as diplomats, you know? With what’s at stake for the Narnians, with everyone weighing in on it, it’s hard not to feel…well, involved, somehow, even if we’re supposed to be being impartial supporters.”

Lanisen says absently, “Yeah.” He draws a deep breath and blows it out again. “Sir…”

Darrin asks, “Hm?”

Lanisen says, “Um…” and bites his lower lip. “I’m… I’m thinkin’ to stay here. After.”

Darrin looks over at him, tilting his head. “Yeah?”

Lanisen says, “Yeah.”

Darrin asks, “Here in Sted Cair, or just here in Narnia?”

Lanisen says, “Sted– Sted Cair, um.” He takes another breath. “Um, Stormsbreath’s said he wouldn’t mind me hangin’ about.”

Darrin mouths ‘Stormsbreath’ to himself, and then his expression clears. “That’s the healer?”

Lanisen says, “Yeah.”

Darrin looks thoughtful. “That’s something you’re interested in? Healing?”

Lanisen says, “Well,” and blows out a breath. “Workin’ with the dogs, I always been lookin’ for… They get into all kinds of stuff, it’s, you gotta know /some/, you just gotta. And then– Meg got me talkin’ to Sir Chal, a little bit, he taught me some, you know, human stuff. And it’s… I dunno. I like Stormsbreath, and I like helpin’ out with– he’s let me help with some of the tinctures and teas and things, and it’s… I’d like to keep helpin’, even if I’m never a real healer. And he says he wouldn’t mind. So.”

Darrin studies him as he talks. When he’s done, Darrin nods slowly. “I think you’d be a good healer, or healer’s assistant, Lanisen. You and Meg, you both like helping people, and you make friends with the Narnians really easily. It’d be better here, where people are less likely to judge you.”

Lanisen glances at him at this, and nods, looking down. He rubs at his wrists absently, and shrugs. “It’s– it’s time for a change, anyway.”

Darrin says, “Maybe so. You’ve been kind of…in limbo…since Colin. Something new might be good, especially if you feel like that’s what you need.”

Lanisen says, “It’s just… I can’t, I can’t stay there and keep leavin’ twice a year for Jana and Tristran like I mean to, not without inconveniencing a lot of people. Mara’s there, and she knows the work, and she’s good at it, and she wants it, and it’s not really… it’s not fair to her for me to keep waltzin’ in and out on a whim.”

Darrin says, “I don’t think it’d be that much of an inconvenience. Twice a year isn’t too much to ask.”

Lanisen says, “I was gone two months this spring, sir.”

Darrin asks, “Would you be gone that long every time?”

Lanisen says, “I don’t know. All I know is… I got home, and then I turned around and left again, and at this rate I might get home again in time to turn around and go back to Lantern Waste, it’s… I can’t ask him to just keep somebody on temporary for that long.”

Darrin nods. “That makes sense.”

Lanisen says, “And it’s…” He looks down, and doesn’t continue for a long moment. “I like it here.”

Darrin exhales. “It’s hard not to like.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah.”

Darrin says, “It sounds like you’ve thought this through, and have a lot of reasons to make this decision.”

Lanisen relaxes slightly. “Yes, sir,” he answers.

Darrin says, “Well. So that’s good. You’re not…trying to run away, or if you are, that’s not your only reason for leaving, so I don’t have to sit on you and talk sense into you, or anything.”

Lanisen glances at him to see how much of this is joking.

Darrin looks completely serious, which probably means he’s not serious at all. He looks back, holding the solemn expression for another few seconds, and then cracking a small grin. “Well, anyways, you deserve to have more friends than just me and Meg, and I think you’d make lots here.”

Lanisen looks down and nods. He takes a deep breath and says, a slight urgent note in his voice, “I’m not– I’m not tryin’ to replace you, either of you.”

Darrin says, “Well, I mean, we are irreplaceable, obviously.”

Lanisen lets out a laughing breath, and relaxes with it.

Darrin says, “If you think you’ll be happier here, and have the chance to do good, you should do it. We’ll just have to come up and visit you, which is a convenient excuse to come to Narnia, anyways.”

Lanisen says, “Happy to be of service, sir.”

Darrin nudges him.

Lanisen elbows him back.

Darrin exclaims, “Hey!”

Lanisen gives him a big-eyed confused-and-innocent look. He’s good at it.

Darrin says, “Ooh, you’re good. Rats.”

Lanisen says, “I got no idea what you’re talkin’ about, sir.”

Darrin says, “Mm-hmm.”

Lanisen lifts his shoulders.

Darrin says, “Have you told Meg yet?”

Lanisen falters a little bit and looks down, rubbing his elbow. “No, sir.”

Darrin exhales.

Lanisen says, “I will; I will.”

Darrin says, “Okay. She’ll want to know.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah, I–” He shuts his eyes for a moment. “I don’t know how to.”

Darrin asks, “Why?”

Lanisen lifts his shoulders, not looking at Darrin.

Darrin says, “I don’t think she’ll be mad about it. Probably a little sad, but not mad.”

Lanisen says, “Yeah, I– yeah.”

Darrin asks, “You still haven’t really talked to her, huh?”

Lanisen says, “No, it’s– we did.”

Darrin squints.

Lanisen shrugs again.

Darrin asks, “But things are still awkward?”

Lanisen says, “It’s, it’s better, it is.”

Darrin says, “Okay.”

Lanisen rubs the side of his face and goes quiet.

Darrin says, “I’m not sure how to help, there.”

Lanisen says, “It’s not, it’s not…” He shuts his eyes briefly. “I’m… sorry, I shouldn’t even…”

Darrin makes a face at him.

Lanisen doesn’t see it.

Darrin asks, “Why are you sorry?”

Lanisen says, “Because… you shouldn’t– be hearin’ this from me.”

Darrin drops his face into his hands and laughs, softly. “You and Megren are extremely alike, you know that, right?”

Lanisen asks, “What?”

Darrin says, “You both have this tendency to apologize, a lot, and you both like to feel guilty for talking to me about things. You know that’s what friends are for, right? I don’t mind. And it’s better to get these things out rather than keep them in and let them fester.”

Lanisen covers his face with both hands, resting his elbows on his knees. “We’re not alike; we’re not alike.”

Darrin says, “You are /so/ wrong about that. Yep. Wrong.”

Lanisen says, “I don’t think we could be more different.”

Darrin says, “I even have to have the same tactic for talking to you when you’re upset, because neither of you will ever say anything until I’m just silent and staring at you for a long time and maybe asking ‘why’ a lot.”

Lanisen says, “That’s not, that’s not…”

Darrin blinks at him.

Lanisen laces his fingers at his nape for a moment, then straightens. “You shouldn’t be hearin’ this from me,” he repeats.

Darrin says, “All right,” in a tone that says he doesn’t even remotely agree. “So who are you going to talk to about it?”

Lanisen says, “I don’t know, I don’t know, but it’s not– it’s not on you to…”

Darrin sighs. “I know, I know it’s not ideal, to talk to me of all people about these things. I just, I don’t mind, and I don’t like it when my friends are unhappy and I might be able to help.”

Lanisen says, “I don’t… I don’t know what you could do to help, sir.”

Darrin sighs again, deflating slightly. “You’re right.”

Lanisen nods, staring at his hands.

Darrin makes an unhappy face.

Lanisen glances at him sidelong and shifts. “Sir…”

Darrin asks, “Yeah?”

Lanisen says, “Um,” and stops, shaking his head slightly. “I just– I would’ve understood if you… stopped talkin’ to me, if you stopped bein’ my friend. Thank you for– for not.”

Darrin smiles faintly, nudging Lanisen. “I don’t see how that would have been better for anybody. Then we would all just be sad.”

Lanisen half-smiles, swaying away and back.

Darrin says, “You’ll do good here, Lanisen. I’m glad you’ve found something you want to do.”

Lanisen says, “Thank you, sir.”

Darrin says, “I don’t think I really asked you how your visit with Jana went.”

Lanisen says, “Oh,” and looks down, picking a loose thread out of the ragged edge of his sleeve. “Um… it was, it was fine. Nothin’ really to report. Tristran’s sweet and clever. I don’t think Myrd ever knew I was there.”

Darrin looks a little surprised at that last statement. “Really?”

Lanisen lifts his shoulders, half-smiling. “Jana never told him, I stayed away. I never saw him.”

Darrin wrinkles up his nose. “That feels weird, but also, I mean, it’s probably for the best?”

Lanisen says, “Yeah. I– yeah.”

Darrin says, “Hmm.”

Lanisen hesitates. “I’m– I don’t want him to find out,” he confesses. “I’m afraid of…”

Darrin asks, “What?”

Lanisen is quiet for a minute. “It’s… it’s his son.”

Darrin nods.

Lanisen doesn’t say anything else.

Darrin says, “It’s not like you’re plotting to take him away from them, or anything.”

Lanisen pauses, looking at his hands, and then says plainly, “I would, though. If Jana asked me to, I would. If Myrd was hurtin’ him like he…”

Darrin considers this. “If that were the case, you wouldn’t be the only one.”

Lanisen says, “If he knew that…”

Darrin says, “He’s subject to the same laws as everybody else, and the Narnians – the Guard – wouldn’t stand for anybody hurtin’ a child.”

Lanisen says, “No, of course not.”

Darrin asks, “But, you make sure you’re safe too, all right?”

Lanisen nods.

Darrin says, “Okay.”

Lanisen looks up at the round hole in the ceiling, and the angle of the sunlight that slants down, nearly perfectly straight. “Should we go find some lunch?”

Darrin says, “I could eat.”

Lanisen says, “Maybe Linor’s made some more of those spiced biscuits.”

Darrin says, “Mmm, biscuits.” He hops to his feet.

Lanisen gets up as well, stretching out his shoulders, then turns toward the door.

Darrin follows.

Leave a Reply

